The openness to error

Marrakesh bike
Marrakesh bike

For about one year now I have taken my role as an outside eye aka assistant dramaturge more seriously than ever, and I wish to thank choreographer Silvia Gribaudi who believed in me and got me involved in her latest piece since the beginning of the creative process.

The job I am called upon doing is a delicate one, and there is no one-fits-all solution, nor definition of what a dramaturge should do.

For What age are you acting? I called my process “a waltz of full and empty”. I made my contribution aiming at a special balance inside the piece, while remembering, in each single moment, that my role was, and is, to support the choreographer’s intention.

Silvia’s poetics is based on risk, on the possibility of making a mistake, and the challenge of this. So the work we did had trust as a prerequisite, and the openness to error. Indeed, enjoying the moment when the unpredictable can happen, those spaces left intentionally empty. We treasure the mistake, the fragility, the weakness, and turn them into our strength.

It’s like carrying baskets of eggs on the bike we are riding, we know how tricky this can be, but we also know where we are heading to.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The openness to error

Leave a comment